Making a Difference Awards

Marigold Library System’s Making a Difference Award recognizes and celebrates excellence and innovation in library service. The Award acknowledges a library and team who are proud of an achievement in an area such as programming, outreach, advocacy and public relations, partnerships, and innovative use of technology.


One or more awards will be given out to a small, mid-sized, and large library each year based on the following criteria:
  • Community Benefit – programs, activities, or events that improve the health, safety, or well-being of the community.
  • Excellence in Service – ongoing library service or outreach that enhances traditional library services.
  • Innovation – original, unique, or cutting-edge programs, activities, or events.
  • Excellence in Advocacy – advocacy and promotional campaigns that have raised the profile of the library within the community.


  • Identify one program/service or group of programs/services with a central objective. Preference will be given to focused applications.
  • Preference will be given to applications for services that can be replicated in some form by other libraries.

Possible topics for nomination

  • Advocacy
  • Community Partnership
  • Innovative Programming
  • Innovative Use of Technology
  • Impactful Ideas and Successes in Increasing Cardholders
  • Intellectual Freedom
  • Outreach
  • Public Relations and Marketing
  • Innovative Service

How to Apply:

1. Use this form as a template for your nomination (include information in as many fields as possible).
2. The Advocacy Committee of the Marigold Library Board will consider every nomination based on the criteria above and will choose the award recipient(s).
3. Awards will be presented to the winning library board at the Marigold Member Libraries’ Workshop on May 15, 2019.
4. A winner and an honourable mention from a small, medium, and large library will be chosen. Each winner will receive a plaque and a monetary award of $750 and each honourable mention will receive a certificate of recognition and a monetary award of $250 to be used at the local Library Board’s discretion.


1. Nominations must be submitted to one of the contacts below by February 15, 2019.
2. Nominations may be made by member library staff or board members.
3. Nominations must be signed by the board chair.
4. Nominations should follow the template provided.

Libraries will be grouped according to community population size:

  • Acadia
  • Acme
  • Beiseker
  • Berry Creek
  • Bighorn
  • Carbon
  • Carseland
  • Cereal
  • Consort
  • Delia
  • Empress
  • Gleichen
  • Hussar
  • Linden
  • Longview
  • Millarville
  • Morrin
  • Rockyford
  • Rumsey
  • Standard
  • Youngstown
  • Banff
  • Crossfield
  • Drumheller
  • Hanna
  • Irricana
  • Oyen
  • Sheep River
  • Three Hills
  • Trochu


  • Airdrie
  • Canmore
  • Chestermere
  • Cochrane
  • High River
  • Okotoks
  • Strathmore


Forward inquiries, nominations, and applications to:

Nicole Dunnewold, Library Services Consultant
1-855-934-5334, ext. 257


Kristine den Boon, Library Services Consultant
1-855-93405334, ext. 256

To see Award winners from previous years, click here.