

Marigold Library System Annual General Meeting Saturday, April 22, 2023

# MINUTES

MARIGOLD BOARD TRUSTEES IN ATTENDANCE			MARIGOLD HQ STAFF IN ATTENDANCE	
ACADIA MD	Maxine Booker	1	Lynne Price	Laura Taylor
AIRDRIE	Natasha Roberts	2	Kristine den Boon	Nicole Dunnewold
CANMORE	Jennifer MacAulay	3	Richard Kenig	Nora Ott (recording)
CARBON	Michelle Lomond	4	Jessie Bach	Alida Pituka
CHESTERMERE	Mary Lynn Wilcox ALTERNATE	5	Kim Visser	Lynn Blain
CONSORT	Michael Beier	6	Barb Froese	Steven Copland
CROSSFIELD	Luke Brennan	7	Jen Laskosky	Jaspreet Singh
DIAMOND VALLEY	lan Huffman	8	Jennifer Muckle	
EMPRESS	Kelly Burgess	9		
FOOTHILLS COUNTY	Eleanor Chinnick	10	ABSENT TRUSTEES EXCUSED WITH MOTION	
GHOST LAKE	Corinne Smith		BEISEKER	Sharon King
		11	-	
HANNA	Sandra Murphy	12	DELIA	Melody Christofferson
HIGH RIVER	Lynne Thornton	13	DRUMHELLER	Margaret Nielsen
HUSSAR	Kristen Anderson	14	KANANASKIS I.D.	Manon Miller
IRRICANA	Teresa Cameron	15	OKOTOKS	Nicole Kiefuik
I.D.9	Alexandra Parkinson	16	SPECIAL AREA# 4	Jodi Kurek
KNEEHILL COUNTY	Lauralee Machell-Cunningham ALTERNATE	17	THREE HILLS	Carol Best
LINDEN	Cynthia Klassen	18	YOUNGSTOWN	Renee Laughlin
LONGVIEW	Jan Dyck	19	VACANCIES	
MORRIN	Alenda Gridley	20	M.D. BIGHORN	
OYEN	Ed Hogan	21	COCHRANE	
ROCKYFORD	Tyler Henke	22	ABSENT TRUSTEES WITHOUT NOTICE	
ROCKY VIEW COUNTY	Nicholas Wiebe	23	BANFF	Manuela Olibera-Dorn
SPECIAL AREA# 2	Helen Veno	24	ACME	Daniel Leronowich
SPECIAL AREA# 3	Elaine Michaels	25	MUNSON	Leslie Landon
STANDARD	John Getz	26	GUESTS	
STARLAND COUNTY	Lil Morrison	27	Pat Fule	Mayor of Strathmore
STRATHMORE	Melissa Langmaid	28	Christopher Gillespie	Cochrane Library Board
TROCHU	Jennifer Lyver	29	Erin Gregory	Auditor
WAIPAROUS	Janine Jevne	30	Caley Harriman	Auditor
WHEATLAND COUNTY	Amber Link	31	Diana Larivee	SAIT Practicum Student
			Ann Horn	Strathmore Library Board

# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

- 1. CALL TO ORDER J. Getz called the Annual General Meeting to order at 9:47 am
- 2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: K. Anderson/ N. Roberts				
-To approve the Annual General Meeting agenda as presented	CARRIED			

- 3. Minutes of the April 30, 2022 Annual General Meeting
  - The minutes from the April 30, 2022 Annual General Meeting were approved at the August 27 2022 Board meeting and were reviewed again at this meeting
  - The 2023 April Board and AGM minutes will be approved at the next regularly scheduled board meeting in August
- 2022 Audited Financial Statements

   E. Gregory and C. Harriman, from Gregory, Harriman & Associates presented the 2022 Audited Financial Statements

MOTION: C. Smith/ J. Dyck-To accept that Marigold Library Board's Financial Statements for the fiscal year ending December31, 2022 be taken as read, verified and approved.CARRIED

5. Appointment of Auditor for 2023

MOTION: M. Booker/ E. Chinnick

- That Gregory, Harriman & Associates be appointed as auditor for 2023 CARRIED

# 6. Annual Report

J. Bach, Communications and Engagement Manager, presented the 2022 Annual Report.
The Annual Report and the audited financial statements will be distributed to key stakeholders including municipalities, member library boards, and the Public Library Services Branch

MOTION: C. Klassen/ M. Lomond	
-To accept the Annual Report for 2022	CARRIED

7. Elections & Appointments to Committees

-Each year at the AGM, the Ad Hoc Nominating Committee brings forward names of Board members willing to stand for the position of Chair and for Board Committees. Elaine Michaels and Lynne Thornton are on the Nominating Committee. Lynne Thornton presented on behalf of the Nominating Committee

The appointment of the Board Chair comes from the Board as a whole. John Getz, put his name forward to be nominated as Chair of the Marigold Board.

**MOTION:** L. Thornton/ E. Michaels -That John Getz be nominated for Chair of the Marigold Board L. Thornton asked:

Are there any further nominations? There were none Are there any further nominations? There were none Are there any further nominations? There were none

**DECLARATION:** L. Thornton/ E. Michaels -That after hearing no further nominations, John Getz is declared Chair

## **Executive Committee**

The Executive Committee members are appointed from the three largest municipal populations and seven members are elected members-at-large. As outlined in Marigold's Constitution, the Vice Chair and Treasurer were chosen at the Executive Committee meeting on February 16, 2023.

MOTION: E. Michaels/L. Thornton

-That Chair John Getz, Natasha Roberts, Nicholas Wiebe, Kristen Anderson, Maxine Booker, Nicole Kiefuik, Melissa Langmaid, Lil Morrison, and Margaret Nielsen, be elected to the Executive Committee CARRIED

\*\*The Board is awaiting an official appointment from the Town of Cochrane; when that has been finalized, the appointed Cochrane Trustee will automatically take a position on the Executive The Marigold Executive Committee for 2023/2024 is:

John Getz (Board Chair)

Maxine Booker (Vice Chair) - chosen and confirmed on February 16, 2023 Nicole Kiefuik (Treasurer) – chosen and confirmed on February 16, 2023 Kristen Anderson Melissa Langmaid Lil Morrison Margaret Nielsen Natasha Roberts Nicholas Wiebe \*\*And the appointed member from the Town of Cochrane

# **Advocacy Committee**

MOTION: L. Thornton/ E. Michaels

-That Lil Morrison, Helen Veno, Teresa Cameron, Melody Christofferson, Nicholas Wiebe, Melissa Langmaid, and John Getz, Board Chair, ex officio be appointed to the Advocacy Committee and that Lil Morrison be appointed Chair and representative on the Executive Committee CARRIED

# **Governance Committee**

MOTION: L. Thornton/ E. Michaels

-That Kristen Anderson, Eleanor Chinnick Jan Dyck, Margaret Nielson and John Getz, Board Chair, ex officio be appointed to the Governance Committee and that Kristen Anderson be appointed Chair and representative on the Executive Committee CARRIED MOTION: L. Thornton/ E. Michaels

-That Nicole Kiefuik, Melody Christofferson, Melissa Langmaid, and John Getz, Board Chair, ex officio be appointed to the Finance Committee and that Nicole Kiefuik be appointed Chair. Nicole is Marigold's Treasurer and representative on the Executive Committee CARRIED

## Standards and Services Committee

MOTION: L. Thornton/ E. Michaels

-That Maxine Booker, Elaine Michaels, Faye McGhee, Natasha Roberts and John Getz, Board Chair, ex officio be appointed to the Standards and Services Committee and that Maxine Booker be appointed Chair and representative on the Executive Committee CARRIED

#### **HR Committee**

MOTION: L. Thornton/ E. Michaels

-That Sandra Murphy, Teresa Cameron, Kristen Anderson, Maxine Booker and John Getz, Board Chair, ex officio be appointed to the HR Committee and that Sandra Murphy be appointed Chair CARRIED

# 8. Signing Authority

MOTION: M. Booker/ K. Anderson

That Chair, John Getz, Vice Chair, Maxine Booker, Treasurer, Nicole Kiefuik AND CEO, Lynne Price, COO, Laura Taylor, and Director of Service Deliver, Kristine den Boon have signing authority where Marigold Library System does banking in Strathmore CARRIED

## 9. Disposal of Records

-During 2022, records of Marigold Library System for the year 2011 were disposed of in accordance with the Records Management Policy

#### 10. Adjournment of Annual General Meeting

MOTION: M. Langmaid/ A. Parkinson -To adjourn the Annual General Meeting at 10:31 am

CARRIED